Connect with us

Product Reviews

Sharon Saucy by Cynthia Kadohata – Children’s Book Review

Published

on

Share this:

She is the author of ten children’s books, including Kira-Kira, winner of the Newbery Medal, The Thing About Luck, winner of the National Book Award, Weedflower, winner of the Jane Addams Peace Award, Cracker, winner of six states awards as voted by children, A Place to Belong, winner of the National Book Award, and the coming Saucy, about a piglet like millions of others.

The children’s book review by Peter Whitehouse

Become Lorena, the grandma of Newbery medalist and National Book Award winner Cynthia Kadohata s Saucy — an irrepressible and heartwarming story about a girl and her ever-growing pig.

How did your parents come up with your name?

Cynthia Kadohata is a fascinating story in the voice of Lorena. My mother was very strict in spite of my son and his wife, who in my opinion should have more rules around the house. They actually allowed my granddaughter, Becca, to watch The Walking Dead, which is much too bloody for a young child. That is, I haven’t personally seen the show, but I have read information about it because I…well As far as the answer to your question, my mother lost her wedding ring and the woman who found it was called Lorena. So they called me Lorena. Huh, huch!

What brings you out of bed in the morning?

I wake up automatic at five-forty-five every morning. I am a very disciplined person. Oh, that’s what you mean: why do I always get out of bed? Was would a person do?

You have a bag with you. Will you tell us what you store inside of it?

Are you hungering right now? Can we fix you something to eat? What is your favorite dish?

I am very specific about what I eat, so thanks very kindly, but I like to fix my own dinner. Whenever I eat, I cook my meals just before I get hungry and right away eat. Otherwise, I would pack myself with stuff. I then sit with the family for their dinner but just watch them eat My grandchildren need to chew better. When you are the one of my ages, you understand the importance of chewing. But you would not understand you were too young to do it.

Hast du a favorite song?

Anything by Englebert Humperdinck He’s grossly underrated. A big grin from the man with the tonsils – I swear you can see his tonsils when he sings He once visited Las Vegas while my husband was alive. I think Tom Tom was something.

Are you a follower of rules or a breaker of rules?

I try not to be either. Which is also abnormal, and I try to be normal.

When did you last feel embarrassed about that?

My grandchildren, the way they dress, I don’t understand it. Answers that to your question?

Are there any relationships you would like to repair?

The answer is no. One time I restrained feelings of a girl in high school. She merited it but that doesn’t make it right. I suppose I could call her up. On the Internet, I found her name. I swear she was worthy of it, but sometimes I think perhaps I should call him.

What makes you proud?

Tell them not to do it, because I don’t want them to get stuffed up in the water. I want them to be nice children. My grandchildren are extraordinary, however. They are. But don’t tell them.

Wharf you be doing if you weren’t currently answering the questions in this interview?

Before I liked soap operas, I like to play Spices on the computer.

Do you have any secrets you want to share with us before you leave?

I’ve waited for a long time for someone to ask me that : When my late husband and I began dating for the first time, I had not yet split up with my other boyfriend. I took two weeks to break up with him because I wanted not to hurt his feelings – he was in love with me. It may be difficult for you to believe that at a time an old woman like me was in such need. I’m crotchety and old and forgetful, I know that, and it’s difficult to believe what I used to be like. But back to the point : Those two weeks weren’t enjoyable. The guilt…Excuse me, sometimes I dab my eyes…my husband was a good man. I have a lovely life, a very nice life, but my husband was a good man. I just want people to know that Thank you for telling this secret to someone, it is a relief to say it out loud.

Written by Cynthia Kadohata

Published Synopsis: Written by the Newbery medalist and National Book Award-winning author Cynthia Kadohata, a tragic and heartwarming story about a girl and her ever-growing pig, Saucy is perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan and Flora’Ulysses!

Often being a quadruplet can make it difficult to stand out from the crowd. The Beccas have all three brothers something that makes them…them. Bailey has his music and dances, Jammer plays hockey and K.C. Thinks they are all living in a simulation and sees nothing of the point of doing much. Becca is the only one without anything to make her special.

When she finds a small, sick animal on the road side, Becca knows it is. That’s her thing. She names the pig Saucy and between her own pleas and Saucy’s sweet, pink face, Becca convinces her family to bring her in. Saucy is soon as big a part of the family as everyone else – and growing bigger. The more pounds Saucy has earned, the more she is capable of destroying the house and putting Becca in danger.

Some hard decisions must be made about Becca’s pet, and her search for solutions brings the exact source of Saucy to light. Turns out there are a lot more spooked piglets out there and saving them could mean Becca and her brothers have finally done something together.

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Atheneum / Caitlyn Dlouhy Books | ISBN-13: 978-1442412781

Buy the book in cash!
About the author :

Cynthia Kadohata’s greatest life goal was not to be a writer as a child. It was to be a dog owner. From then she has had six rescue dogs as her best friends. And she has been extremely lucky to mostly have been a writer during her adult life. She is the author of ten children’s books, including Kira-Kira, winner of the Newbery Medal, The Thing About Luck, winner of the National Book Award, Weedflower, winner of the Jane Addams Peace Award, Cracker, winner of six state awards as voted on by children, A Place to Belong, winner of the National Book Award, and the coming Saucy, about a piglet like millions of others yet

This interview with Lorena, a character from Saucy, was conducted between Cynthia Kadohata and Bianca Schulze. If you want similar books and articles, follow along with our content tags by titles about pets, character interviews, family relationship, meet the characters, middle school books and pigs.

Please show us some love.

Share this: