Connect with us


SFFILM unveils Documentary Film Fund grantees



Share this:

Non-profit film organization SFFILM has selected four non-fiction film projects as recipients of this year’s SFFILM Documentary Film Fund.

The fund, with grants totaling US$80,000, was created in 2011 to support feature-length documentaries that are currently in the post-production stages and spotlight “compelling stories, intriguing characters, [and] an innovative visual approach”.

The four films awarded $20,000 each in funding include Giovanni Buccomino’s After a Revolution (working title; pictured), about a brother and sister who fought on opposite sides of the Libyan revolution; Clarke Lyons and Gabe Dinsmoor’s Squeegee, which documents a young group of people in Baltimore and their struggle to overcome poverty; Farah Kassem’s We Are Inside, profiling the relationship between a Lebanese father and his prodigal daughter who returns home after a decade away; and Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh’s Writing with Fire, about a newspaper run by Dalit women in one of India’s most socially oppressive states.

Reviewing the 11 finalists’ submissions was a jury panel consisting of Sofia Alicastro, SFFILM artist development manager for filmmaker programs; Jennifer Battat, founder of the Jenerosity Foundation; Jason Ishikawa, senior executive at Cinetic Media; Anne Lai, SFFILM executive director; and film producer Diane Quon.

“Each project tackles its particular exploration of identity and place in remarkably thoughtful and creative ways, and they all have the potential to move and inspire audiences all over the world,” said the jury in a statement. “We’re impressed by the vividness with which these films depict their communities, the spaces they inhabit, and the conflicts they face, and we look forward to these stories being told to as wide an audience as possible.”

Past SFFILM Documentary Film Fund grantees include Ljubo Stefanov and Tamara Kotevska’s Honeyland, RaMell Ross’ Hale County This Morning, This Evening, Hassan Fazili’s Midnight Traveler, and Luke Lorentzen’s Midnight Family.

Share this: